team

hungry eyes festival is being organised, curated and realized by twelve film- and performance makers who met each other mainly through their common studies at the Institute of Applied Theatre Studies. The organizing team sees itself as a collective that works together in a democratic way and provides for a fluid distribution of work according to personal interests and capacities, rather than insisting on a strict division of tasks. It tries to create structures that enable them and the invited artists to work together under appropriate and mutually enriching conditions. It is important to us not to reproduce precarious work structures, neither for us as organizers, nor for the artists of the festival.

Within the team we count our work hours and pay ourselves accordingly. In this way we want to avoid that organisational works, such as writing the logs, bookkeeping, etc., is paid less than, for example, curating or planning the discussion formats. We are aware that this method of payment cannot guarantee absolute fairness, but this approach is the one that has proven to be the most loyal and undisputed in our discussions.

Generally we are guided by the lower-fee-limit (Honoraruntergrenze) published by Bundesverband Freie Darstellende Künste.

Frithjof Gawenda

Frithjof Gawenda 451 / 5000 Übersetzungsergebnisse (* born May 14, 1997 in Stralsund) gained experience in the theater with mentally handicapped people as an assistant director and as an actor in film and television. After graduating from school and doing various internships and assistants, he began studying Applied Theater Studies. He has always been to be found as a temporary technician and lighting designer, performer and dramaturge in various independent theater platforms throughout Germany.

Elena Giffel

Elena Giffel has been working for almost 20 years in different theater groups as an actress, director, stage- and costume designer, technician and dramaturg. For one year she worked as assistant at the Mainfrankentheater Würzburg. Later she took part in a collective production at the Gorki Theater Berlin in the frame of Büchnertage 2013 Since 2013 she studies Applied Theater Studies n Gießen and works there, alone and collectively, on her own productions, audio dramas and festivals.

Linda Gottwald

Linda Gottwald has been studying art and philosophy for teaching at the University of Kassel and the Kunsthochschule Kassel and since 2018 in the double study of visual communication at the art college Kassel. She gained some installation and conceptual experience in the art in a contemporary context class, studied graphic design at Isdat Toulouse in 2019 and is currently in the editorial design class.

Herbert Graf

Herbert Graf studied literary studies at Universität Hamburg andApplied Theater Studies at Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen. His works, which situate themselves between stage performances and exhibition formats and were worked on partly alone and partly collaborative, were shown i.a. in Frankfurt LAB, Cammerspielen Leipzig, Prinzregententheater München, Kunstverein Mönchengladbach, Neuen Kunstverein Gießen and Palais de la Porte Dorée in Paris. For Ruhrtriennale 2019 he curated the short film program Films In Between.

Amélie Haller

Amélie Haller works as a performer and independent artist in performance art, as well as a curator for hungry eyes festival. Her works have been shown in Keller der Kleinen Künste München, Theaterdiscounter Berlin, Frankfurt LAB, Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitaggelände in Nürnberg, Gängeviertel in Hamburg and Palais de la Porte Dorée in Paris. In her current performance she is experimenting with performative and narrative possibilities of tying together the human and animal, body and technology, fiction and reality - for this purpose she received a debut-funding from the city of Munich.

Eva Kirsch

Eva Kirsch has been working collectively on performances and cinematic projects in the contexts of installation art, web and the big screen since the beginning of her studies at the Institute for Applied Theater Studies and besides as an organising member of student festivals. Recently she has been working several times as a cinematographer (i.a. for a music video of Frankfurter Hauptschule), as artist support at Festival für Politik im freien Theater at the Kammerspielen in munich, as a theater teacher for FSJ-workshops as well as in the catalogue and press department of Diagonale – Festival des österreichischen Films. At the moment she has a keen interest for curational processes and festivals as social and discursive spaces.

Leonie Kopineck

Leonie Kopineck already worked as directors assistant at Theater Duisburg before her studies of theater studies and comparative studies in Bochum and later Applied Theater Studies in Gießen. Institute for Applied Theater Studies Afterwards she was a directors assistant at Otto-Falckenberg-Schuleand Münchner Kammerspielen (e.g. Hochdeutschlanddirected by Kevin Barz). Besides the organisation of students festivals she was also working as artist support for TANZPLATTFORM in Munich.

Maren Küpper

Maren Küpper develops performances, dance- and choir-pieces. Her performance Hard Feelings has been invited in 2019 to State of the Art Festival in Hildesheim. Together with Kerstin Oppermann she developed in 2019 the performance Team for In/between Festival in Gießen.
Furthermore she works as a director's assistant and production manager, i.a. for Susanne Zaun/ Marion Schneider and SKART.

Anne Mahlow

Anne Mahlow studies Applied Theater Studies at JLU Gießen and works as an artist, dramaturg and curator. Alone and in different collective contexts she develops performances, installation art and audio pieces, which has been shown e.g. its Staatstheater Darmstadt, Mousonturm Frankfurt, FFT Düsseldorf swell as Ruhrtriennale. She is part of the performance collective Hain/Kapsner/Mahlow/Romaowski. In 2016 she was one of the founding members of "hungry eyes festival". Since July 2017 Anne Maslow is part of the dramaturgy at Ruhrtiennale, as well as working as a curator. Since 2018 she curated in the frame of Ruhrtriennale a performative and discursive program for the Third Space created by raumlaborberlin.

Svenja Polonji

Svenja Polonji studies at the Institute of Applied Theater Studies in Gießen and worked for one year as an assistant at Staatstheater Braunschweig. As a board member ofAlleineinboot e.V. in Bad Segeberg she developed performative meeting projects with refugees and citizens. She is awardee of the Deutscher Bürgerpreis, as well as awardee of the Queisser Juniorenpreis and performed in music videos by 2raumwohnung and Messer. In 2020 she showed her installation Island Dreams at Senckenberg Museum Frankfurt.

Sophia Scherer

Sophia Scherer develops performances and video works and searches for hybrid forms of those genres. Before her studies of Applied Theater Studies she already worked as a scene/set designer and as an assistant and intern in different theaters in Graz and Berlin.

Anja Schneidereit

Anja Schneidereit studied cultural studies and French philology in Potsdam and Toulouse and started her dramaturgy studies 2015 in Frankfurt am Main. Her own theater work deals with bodies in public that are confronted with spatial events and is situated between installation and performance.

Nikolas Stäudte

Nikolas Stäudte studied German as a foreign language in Leipzig and worked as a directing and dramaturgy intern at Staatsschauspiel Dresden as well as in press and public relations for euro-scene Leipzig. Besides his studies of Applied Theater Studies and wagework in the cinema, he realises his own projects in different collaborative constellations, that were shown among others in Mousonturm Frankfurt, Cammerspielen Leipzig and Thalia Theater Hamburg .

Eva Streit

Eva Streit completed her education to become a contemporary dancer at Contemporary Dance School Hamburg. She worked i.a. as a performer in projects by Johanna Bruckner, Patricia Carolin Mai, Rica Blunck and Niels Wehr, and as a artistic assistant for the integration project Salon International in Hamburg. Since 2018 she studies Applied Theater Studies in Gießen. Her own artistic works were shown at TanzArt ostwest, Tanzlabor Hamburg, as well as eigenarten-Festival Hamburg.

kontakt@hungryeyesfestival.de I presse@hungryeyesfestival.de I technik@hungryeyesfestival.de
kunstrasen giessen e.V. I Postfach 11 06 01 I 35351 Gießen

English (UK)

das team

Das hungry eyes festival wird von zwölf Film- und Performance Schaffenden, die sich großteils in Gießen im Rahmen des Studiums der Angewandten Theaterwissenschaft kennenlernten, organisiert, kuratiert und umgesetzt. Das Organisationsteam versteht sich als ein Kollektiv, das basisdemokratisch zusammenarbeitet und eine fluide Verteilung der Arbeit nach persönlichen Interessen und Kapazitäten vorsieht, anstatt auf eine strenge Teilung der Aufgabenfelder zu bestehen. Es versucht Strukturen zu schaffen, die es ihnen und den eingeladenen Künstler:innen ermöglichen, unter angemessenen und einander bereichernden Bedingungen zusammenzuarbeiten. Dabei sollen weder für die  Organisator:innen, noch für die Künstler:innen des Festivals prekäre Arbeitsstrukturen reproduziert werden.

Innerhalb des Teams zählen wir geleistete Arbeitsstunden und bezahlen uns entsprechend. Auf diese Weise möchten wir vermeiden, dass organisatorische Arbeiten wie beispielsweise Protokollieren, Buchhaltung, etc. geringer bezahlt werden als inhaltliche Arbeiten wie etwa die Kuration oder die Planung des Vermittlungsprogramms. Uns ist bewusst, dass auch diese Bezahlweise keine absolute Fairness gewährleisten kann, jedoch ist diese Herangehensweise die, welche sich in unseren Gesprächen als die loyalste und unbestrittenste herausgestellt hat. 

Wir orientieren uns an den vom Bundesverband Freie Darstellende Künste herausgegeben Honorar-Untergrenze.

Frithjof Gawenda

Frithjof Gawenda (*geb. 14.05.1997 in Stralsund) sammelte zur Schulzeit Erfahrungen im Theater mit geistig Behinderten als Regieassiszent und als Schauspieler in Film und Fernsehen. Nach seinem Schulabschluss und diversen Hospitanzen und Assistenzen begann er sein Studium der angewandten Theaterwissenschaften. Seit jeher ist er als Aushilfstechniker und Lichtdesigner, Performer und Dramaturg in diversen freien Theaterplattformen im ganzen Bundesgebiet aufzufinden.

Elena Giffel

Elena Giffel arbeitet seit knapp 20 Jahren in verschiedenen Theatergruppen als Schauspielerin, Regisseurin, Bühnenbildnerin, Kostümbildnerin, Technikerin und Dramaturgin. Ein Jahr lang war sie Hospitantin und Assistentin am Mainfrankentheater Würzburg, später arbeitete sie an einer kollektiven Produktion am Gorki Theater Berlin im Rahmen der Büchnertage 2013 mit. Seit 2013 studiert sie Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen und arbeitet dort im Kollektiv und allein an eigenen Produktionen, Hörspielen und Festivals.

Linda Gottwald

Linda Gottwald studiert seit  2015 Kunst und Philosophie auf Lehramt an der Universität Kassel und der Kunsthochschule Kassel und seit 2018 im Doppelstudium Visuelle Kommunikation an der Kunsthochschule Kassel. Sie sammelte einige installative und konzeptuelle Erfahrungen in der Klasse Kunst im zeitgenössischen Kontext, studierte 2019 an der Isdat Toulouse Grafikdesign und ist derzeit in der Klasse Redaktionelles Gestalten.

Herbert Graf

Herbert Graf studierte Literaturwissenschaft an der Universität Hamburg und Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft an der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen. Seine Arbeiten, die sich zwischen Bühnenperformances und Ausstellungsformaten bewegen und die teils solistisch, teils kollaborativ entstanden, wurden u.a. im Frankfurt LAB, den Cammerspielen Leipzig, im Prinzregententheater München, im Kunstverein Mönchengladbach, im Neuen Kunstverein Gießen und im Palais de la Porte Dorée in Paris gezeigt. Für die Ruhrtriennale 2019 kuratierte er das Kurzfilmprogramm Films In Between.

Amélie Haller

Amélie Haller arbeitet als Darstellerin und eigenständige Künstlerin sowohl im Bereich der Performance Art, als auch als Kuratorin des hungry eyes festivals. Ihre Arbeiten wurden im Keller der Kleinen Künste München, im Theaterdiscounter Berlin, am Frankfurt LAB, im Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitaggelände in Nürnberg, im Gängeviertel in Hamburg und am Palais de la Porte Dorée in Paris gezeigt. Ihre aktuelle Performance beschäftigt sich mit performativen und narrativen Möglichkeiten der Verschmelzung zwischen Mensch und Tier, Körper und Technik und Fiktion und Realität – dafür erhielt sie die Debütförderung der Stadt München.

Eva Kirsch

Eva Kirsch arbeitet seit Beginn ihres Studiums der Angewandten Theaterwissenschaft kollektiv an Performances und filmischen Projekten in Installationskontexten, fürs Web und für die große Leinwand, sowie als Mitorganisatorin studentischer Festivals. Zuletzt war sie mehrfach tätig als Kamerafrau (u. a. für ein Musikvideo der Frankfurter Hauptschule), in der Künstler*innenbetreuung beim Festival für Politik im freien Theater an den Kammerspielen in München, als Theaterpädagogin für FSJ-Workshops sowie in der Katalog- und Presseabteilung der Diagonale – Festival des österreichischen Films. Sie interessiert sich momentan insbesondere für Kurationsprozesse und Festivals als soziale, diskursive Räume.

Leonie Kopineck

Leonie Kopineck (she/her) arbeitete schon vor ihrem Studium der Theaterwissenschaft und Komparatistik in Bochum und später der Angewandten Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen als Regieassistentin am Theater Duisburg. Es folgten Regieassistenzen an der Otto-Falckenberg-Schule, sowie den Münchner Kammerspielen (z.B. Hochdeutschland, Regie: Kevin Barz). Neben der Organisation von studentischen Festivals war sie im Frühjahr 2020 an der Künstler*innen- und Spielortbetreuung der TANZPLATTFORM in München beteiligt.

Maren Küpper

Maren Küpper erarbeitet Performances, Tanzstücke sowie Sprechchöre. Ihre Tanzperformance Hard Feelings wurde 2019 auf das State of the Art Festival nach Hildesheim eingeladen. Gemeinsam mit Kerstin Oppermann entwickelte sie 2019 die Performance Team für das In/between Festival in Gießen.
Außerdem arbeitet sie als Regieassistentin und Produktionsleitung, u. a. für Susanne Zaun/ Marion Schneider und SKART.

Anne Mahlow

Anne Mahlow studierte Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft an der JLU Gießen und arbeitet als Künstlerin, Dramaturgin und Kuratorin. Solo und in verschiedenen kollektiven Zusammenhängen realisiert sie Performances, Installationen und Hörstücke, mit denen sie u.a. bereits am Staatstheater Darmstadt, Mousonturm Frankfurt, FFT Düsseldorf sowie bei der Ruhrtriennale zu sehen war. Sie ist Teil des Performance-Kollektivs Hain/Kapsner/Mahlow/Romanowski. 2016 war sie Mitbegründerin des “Hungry Eyes Festival”. Seit Juli 2017 ist Anne Mahlow Teil der Dramaturgie der Ruhrtriennale und hier sowohl als Dramaturgin, als auch Kuratorin tätig. Seit 2018 kuratiert sie im Rahmen der Ruhrtriennale das performative und diskursive Programm einer eigenen Spielstätte, den von raumlaborberlin gestalteten Third Space.

Svenja Polonji

Svenja Polonji studiert am Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen und assistierte ein Jahr am Staatstheater Braunschweig. Als Vorstandsmitglied im Alleineinboot e.V. in Bad Segeberg entwickelte sie performative Begegnungsprojekte zwischen Geflüchteten und Einwohnenden. Sie ist Deutsche Bürgerpreisträgerin, sowie Ausgezeichnete des Queisser Juniorenpreises und performte in Musikvideos von 2raumwohnung und Messer und zeigte 2020 die Installation Island Dreams im Senckenberg Museum Frankfurt.

Sophia Scherer

Sophia Scherer entwickelt Performance und Videoarbeiten und sucht nach hybriden Formen dieser Genres. Sie arbeitete schon vor ihrem Studium der Angewandten Theaterwissenschaft in einzelnen Projekten als Bühnenbildnerin/Set Designerin und assistierte und hospitierte in verschiedenen Theater Institutionen in Graz und Berlin.

Anja Schneidereit

Anja Schneidereit hat Kulturwissenschaften und französische Philologie in Potsdam und Toulouse studiert und begann ihr Dramaturgie Studium 2015 in Frankfurt am Main. Ihre eigene Theaterarbeit beschäftigt sich mit Körpern in der Öffentlichkeit, die sich mit räumlichen Begebenheiten konfrontiert sehen und situiert sich zwischen Installation und Performance.

nikolas Stäudte

nikolas Stäudte (keine Pronomen bevorzugt) studierte Deutsch als Fremdsprache in Leipzig und arbeitete als Regie- und Dramaturgiehospitanz am Staatsschauspiel Dresden sowie in der Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsabteilung der euro-scene Leipzig. Neben einem Studium der Angewandten Theaterwissenschaft und Lohnarbeit im Kino, realisiert nikolas eigene Projekte in verschiedenen kollaborativen Konstellationen, die unter anderem am Mousonturm Frankfurt, den Cammerspielen Leipzig und dem Thalia Theater Hamburg gezeigt wurden.

Eva Streit

Eva Streit absolvierte eine Ausbildung zur zeitgenössischen Bühnentänzerin an der Contemporary Dance School Hamburg. Sie arbeitete u.a. als Performerin bei Projekten von Johanna Bruckner, Patricia Carolin Mai, Rica Blunck und Niels Wehr, und als künstlerische Assistenz bei dem Integrationsprojekt Salon International in Hamburg. Seit 2018 studiert sie Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen. Ihre eigenen künstlerischen Arbeiten zeigte sie auf dem Festival TanzArt ostwest, im Tanzlabor Hamburg, sowie dem eigenarten-Festival Hamburg.

kontakt@hungryeyesfestival.de I presse@hungryeyesfestival.de I technik@hungryeyesfestival.de
kunstrasen giessen e.V. I Postfach 11 06 01 I 35351 Gießen