festival

The next hungry eyes festival will take place from 26th to 28th of August 2022. 

hungry eyes festival is a festival at the intersection of film, performance art and installation art and is happening roughly every one and a half years in Giessen, Germany.

Together with artists from all over the world and the audience we are investigating how film can be watched outside of a movie theatre and how also other artistic disciplines can think in cinematic ways. 

Questions, that we are posing ourselves are: 

What distinguishes watching a film in a cinema from watching it in a theatre-space? Which theatrical means can be found in film and what happens with cinematic tools on stage? What is the relationship between an endlessly repeatable, two-dimensional film and a three-dimensional performance that emerges from the moment? Which facets of the respectable media can become apparent and mutually enrich each other through the transgressions of the genres? How can a discussion about art develop in which art and discourse are not limited to individual media? 

Our interest lies where the boundaries between the respective art forms get blurred and become fuzzy: at the intersection of film, performance art and installation art.

Film in particular is a medium that is increasingly retreating into private spaces and onto private devices. The opportunity to see and reflect about art together with others is an essential part of hungry eyes festival. It enables its visitors to have both individual and collective viewing experiences, to relate these to each other and to actively perceive themselves as recipients.

An important part of the program are therefore also our discussion and exchange formats between audience and artists.

Through its diverse program, hungry eyes festival addresses the widest possible audience, ranging from film-loving citizens of Giessen and the surrounding area to the professional audience of the international interdisciplinary art scene.

history

hungry eyes festival emerged in 2017 from the film festival Filmsommer (2016) and over its three editions in 2017, 2018 and 2021 sharpened its profile as an interdisciplinary festival that shows and reflects on film not only on the screen, but also in performative and installative works.

Originally founded by a small group of students of Applied Theater Studies , its passion was and still is film as a medium in all its facets.

location

The hungry eyes festival For the 2021 festival edition we chose the exhibition space KiZ (Kultur im Zentrum). Through its continuously held exhibitions, KiZ is already established as an art space in the city. The room extends over two floors, which are connected by an open staircase. The walls are white and structured by columns. Due to big ceiling windows, the rooms are pleasantly bright during the day. A darkening of the rooms during the day is not realizable. Due to the spatial conditions, it is not possible to drill holes in the ceiling, walls and floor, nor to hang spotlights. Spotlights can be used with tripods if required. Durch seine kontinuierlichen Ausstellungen ist das KiZ als Kunstraum bereits in der Stadt etabliert. Es liegt zentral zwischen dem Rathaus, dem Stadttheater und dem Kino. 

All events of this festival edition will take place at KiZ, which means that in addition to the various artistic works in the exhibition area, a screening situation for the short film program as well as a small bar area will be set up.

Unfortunately, we must point out that only the upper of the two floors is wheelchair accessible.

adress:

Südanlage 3a

35390 Gießen

kontakt@hungryeyesfestival.de I presse@hungryeyesfestival.de I technik@hungryeyesfestival.de
kunstrasen giessen e.V. I Postfach 11 06 01 I 35351 Gießen

das festival

Das nächste hungry eyes festival wird vom 26.-28. August 2022 stattfinden. 

Das hungry eyes festival ist ein Festival an der Schnittstelle von Film, Performance und Bildender Kunst und findet eineinhalb-jährlich im hessischen Gießen statt. 

Gemeinsam mit Künstler:innen aus der ganzen Welt und dem Publikum erkunden wir, wie Film abseits vom traditionellen Kinosaal geschaut und über ihn auch in anderen künstlerischen Disziplinen nachgedacht werden kann. 

Fragen, die wir uns stellen, sind etwa: 

Was unterscheidet das Schauen im Kino und im Theater? Welche theatralen und performativen Mittel finden sich im Film und was passiert mit filmischen Mitteln auf der Bühne? In welchem Verhältnis stehen der wiederholbare, zweidimensionale Film und die im Moment entstehende, dreidimensionale Performance? Welche Facetten der jeweiligen Medien können durch die Grenzüberschreitungen der Genre deutlich werden und sich gegenseitig befruchten? Wie kann eine Diskussion über Kunst entstehen, in welcher Kunst und Diskurs nicht auf einzelne Medien beschränkt sind? 

Unser Interesse liegt dort, wo die Grenzen zwischen den Kunstformen unscharf werden: an der Schnittstelle von Film, Performance und Installation.

Gerade Film ist ein Medium, das sich immer mehr in die privaten Räume und auf private Endgeräte zurückzieht. Die Möglichkeit, gemeinsam mit anderen Kunst zu sehen und zu reflektieren, ist ein wesentlicher Bestandteil des hungry eyes festivals.  Es ermöglicht seinen Besucher:innen, sowohl individuelle als auch gemeinschaftliche Seherfahrungen zu machen, diese miteinander in Beziehung zu setzen und sich selbst aktiv als Rezipient:innen wahrzunehmen.

Ein wichtiger Programmpunkt sind diesbezüglich auch unsere Gesprächs- und Austauschformate zwischen Publikum und Künstler:innen.

Durch das vielfältige Programm richtet sich das hungry eyes festival an ein möglichst breites Publikum, das von filmbegeisterten Bürger:innen Gießens und Umgebung bis hin zum Fachpublikum der internationalen interdisziplinären Kunstszene reicht. 

geschichte

Das hungry eyes festival ging 2017 aus dem Filmfestival Filmsommer (2016) hervor und schärfte über drei Ausgaben 2017, 2018 und 2021 sein Profil als interdisziplinäres Festival, welches Film nicht nur auf der Leinwand, sondern auch in performativen und installativen Arbeiten zeigt und reflektiert.

Ursprünglich von einer kleinen Gruppe von Student:innen der Angewandten Theaterwissenschaft ins Leben gerufen, galt und gilt seine Leidenschaft dem Film als Medium in all seinen Facetten.

location

Das hungry eyes festival 2021 findet im KiZ (Kultur im Zentrum) in Gießen statt. Durch seine kontinuierlichen Ausstellungen ist das KiZ als Kunstraum bereits in der Stadt etabliert. Es liegt zentral zwischen dem Rathaus, dem Stadttheater und dem Kino. 

Alle Veranstaltungen dieser Festivalausgabe werden im KiZ stattfinden, was bedeutet, dass dort neben den verschiedenen künstlerischen Arbeiten des Ausstellungsbereichs auch eine Screening-Situation für das Kurzfilmprogramm sowie ein kleiner Barbereich aufgebaut sein wird.

Das Untergeschoss sowie Toiletten des Veranstaltungsortes sind nicht barrierefrei.

Adresse:

Südanlage 3a

35390 Gießen

kontakt@hungryeyesfestival.de I presse@hungryeyesfestival.de I technik@hungryeyesfestival.de
kunstrasen giessen e.V. I Postfach 11 06 01 I 35351 Gießen