English (UK)

program release + COVID 19 update

hungry eyes festival goes into the next round! The team of 13 art-hungry cultural practitioners, theater-makers and cineastes has made it their goal to interrogate the intersection between film, performance and installation art and is looking forward to the next and third edition of hungry eyes festivals from February 5th-7th 2021 in Giessen, Germany.

hungry eyes festival emerged from the short film festival Filmsommer (2016) and developed over the following two years a great desire for interdisciplinary formats that deal with the medium of film.

Today, almost five years later, over 770 submissions for short films, installation art works and performances from 62 countries reached the digital mailbox of the festival in the Hessian university city. In a collective process over the period of three months the entire team reviewed, sighted and discussed all the works and finally put together a program for hungry eyes festival 2021. We are now very pleased to publish this program with over 40 participating artists* and collectives.

The festival is interested in artistic positions that place themselves at the intersection of film, performance and installation art. In addition to three short film programs, consisting of a total of 16 short films in the main category and seven short films in the so called ‘Trash Night, nine installation art works and performances have been selected that deal with the medium film in an interdisciplinary way. The question of the gaze as well as perspectives of ‘looking’ and ‘being looked at’ are fine threads that connect the selected artistic works and weave a web of the diverse artistic approaches and disciplines. 

Due to the ongoing seriousness of the situation regarding the Covid19 pandemic and the related decisions and measures taken by the federal government to contain the virus, cultural events, among other things, will continue to be restricted. The hungry eyes festival is also affected by these measures, which means that this year it cannot take place as planned in the exhibition space KiZ in Giessen. However the hungry eyes festival team is not discouraged by this and has developed a version of the festival with which the various artistic works can be accessed conveniently and securely from home via our website in a diverse and sometimes experimental way - with the difference that this year not only will the local audience be reached, but this international program will be open to audiences worldwide.

Originally planned as an analog festival in the Giessen exhibition space KiZ, hungry eyes 2021 leaves a void that cannot be filled completely. However, the festival team would like to provide a stage for artistic works in the digital space and enable encounters between the audience and the artists. In addition to a festive digital opening there will be various other online events: On the one hand there is the pompously shrill Trash Night with the awarding of the "Golden Toast Hawaii" for the trashiest short film of this edition, on the other hand, there are several conversation formats in which both the audience and the artists are invited to get into conversation with each other despite spatial distance. In addition to an exchange about the short films of the main category, there will be an online event to imaginatively fill the void that has arisen: The performance- and installation-artists will give insights into their work and together we will imagine what the festival would have looked like.

Further, the short films of the festival will be available online so that for the first time in the history of hungry eyes festivals there will be the possibility to make the international program accessible to an audience scattered all over the world. Also the installation art works and performances will be presented on the website through a variety of materials and the artists will be introduced in the form of short video portraits.

The already mentioned special short film category ‘Trash’ expands the spectrum of artistic positions shown at the festival by taking itself seriously in its unseriousness and not too seriously in its seriousness. These pearls of film, often labeled as "anti-art" or "tastelessness" are honored during the ‘Trash Night’, which finally culminates in the awarding of the honorary prize "The Golden Toast Hawaii".

Thanks to the support of numerous institutions such as HessenFilm und Medien GmbH, the Giessen Cultural Office, the Hessian Film and Media Academy, the Giessen Cultural Foundation and the Hessen Theater Academy, hungry eyes festival is once again able to offer free access to art and culture regardless of admission fees.

A complete insight into the program of hungry eyes festivals 2021 can be found here on our website as well as on our social media channels, where all works and artists are presented in detail.

Deutsch

Programmveröffentlichung + Update COVID 19

Das hungry eyes festival geht in die nächste Runde! Das 13-köpfige Team aus kunst-hungrigen Kulturschaffenden, Theatermacher:innen und Cineast:innen hat es sich zum Ziel gemacht die Schnittstelle zwischen Film, Performance und Installation zu befragen und freut sich auf die nächste und dritte Ausgabe des hungry eyes festivals vom 5.-7. Februar 2021 in Gießen.

Das hungry eyes festival ging aus dem Kurzfilmfestival Filmsommer (2016) hervor und entwickelte über die beiden darauf folgenden Jahre große Lust an interdisziplinären Formaten im Umgang mit dem Medium Film. 

Heute, fast fünf Jahre später, erreichten über 770 Einreichungen für Kurzfilme, Installationen und Performances  aus 62 Ländern den digitalen Briefkasten des Festivals in der hessischen Universitätsstadt. In einem kollektiven Prozess hat das ganze Team über den Zeitraum von drei Monaten alle Arbeiten gesichtet, diskutiert und schließlich ein Programm für das hungry eyes festival 2021 zusammengestellt. Das Festivalteam freut sich dieses Programm mit über 40 beteiligten Künstler:innen und Kollektiven nun veröffentlichen zu können.  

Das Interesse des Festivals richtet sich an künstlerische Positionen, die sich an der Schnittstelle von Film, Performance und Installation bewegen. Neben drei Kurzfilmprogrammen aus insgesamt 16 Filmen in der Hauptkategorie und der Trash-Night mit sieben Kurzfilmen, wurden neun installative und performative Arbeiten ausgewählt, die sich interdisziplinär mit dem Medium Film auseinandersetzen. Die Thematik des Blicks und die Perspektiven des “Schauens” und “Angeschaut Werdens” sind feine Fäden, die die künstlerischen Arbeiten miteinander verbinden und ein Netz aus den unterschiedlichsten künstlerischen Zugängen und Disziplinen spannen. 

Aufgrund des anhaltenden Ernstes der Lage zur Covid19 Pandemie und den damit zusammenhängenden Entscheidungen und Maßnahmen der Bundesregierung zur Eindämmung des Virus, werden u.a. kulturelle Veranstaltungen weiterhin eingeschränkt. Von diesen Maßnahmen ist auch das hungry eyes festival betroffen, was hierdurch in diesem Jahr nicht wie geplant im Ausstellungsraum KiZ in Gießen stattfinden kann. Davon lässt sich das hungry eyes festival Team aber nicht entmutigen und hat eine Version des Festivals entwickelt, mit der auf vielfältige und mitunter experimentelle Weise die verschiedenen künstlerischen Arbeiten bequem und sicher von zu Hause aus über unsere Website zugänglich gemacht werden – mit dem Unterschied, dass in diesem Jahr nicht nur das lokale Publikum erreicht wird, sondern dieses internationale Programm für ein Publikum weltweit offen steht.

Das als analoges Festival im Gießener Ausstellungsraum KiZ geplante hungry eyes 2021 hinterlässt eine Leerstelle, die sich nicht vollständig füllen lässt. Doch das hungry eyes Team unternimmt den Versuch den künstlerischen Arbeiten im digitalen Raum eine Bühne zu bieten und Begegnungen zu ermöglichen. Neben einer feierlichen digitalen Eröffnung, wird es verschiedene weitere Online-Events geben: Zum einen die traditionelle, pompös schrille Trash-Night mit der Verleihung des “Goldenen Toast Hawaii” für den trashigsten Kurzfilm dieser Ausgabe; zum anderen mehrere Gesprächsformate, bei denen sowohl das Publikum als auch die Künstler:innen dazu eingeladen sind, trotz räumlichem und teils sogar geografischem Abstand ins Gespräch zu kommen. Neben einem Austausch über die Kurzfilme der Hauptkategorie, soll es ein Online-Event mit den Künstler:innen des Festivals geben, um die entstandene Leerstelle imaginär zu füllen: Die Künstler:innen geben Einblicke in ihre Arbeiten und wir stellen uns gemeinsam vor, wie das Festival ausgesehen hätte.

Darüber hinaus werden die Kurzfilme des Festivals online verfügbar sein, sodass es erstmals die Möglichkeit gibt, das internationale Programm des hungry eyes festivals auch für ein, über die Welt verteiltes Publikum zugänglich zu machen. Des Weiteren werden auch die Installationen und Performances auf der Webseite weitreichend vermittelt und die Künstler:innen in Form von kurzen Video-Portraits vorgestellt.

Die bereits genannte Sonderkategorie “Trash” erweitert auf dem Festival das Spektrum der gezeigten künstlerischen Positionen, indem sie sich in ihrer Unernsthaftigkeit ernst und in ihrer Ernsthaftigkeit nicht allzu ernst nimmt. Gewürdigt werden diese, oft als “Anti-Kunst” oder “Geschmacklosigkeit” verunglimpften Perlen des Kurzfilms, im Rahmen der “Trash-Night”, die in ausgelassener Atmosphäre schließlich in der Verleihung des Ehrenpreises “Goldener Toast Hawaii” gipfelt.

Durch die Förderung zahlreicher Institutionen wie u. a. HessenFilm und Medien GmbH, dem Gießener Kulturamt, der Hessischen Film- und Medienakademie, der Hessischen Theaterakademie und der Gießener Kulturstiftung kann auch dieses Jahr das hungry eyes festival wieder unabhängig von Eintrittspreisen freien Zugang zu Kunst und Kultur bieten.

Einen umfangreichen und vollständigen Einblick in das Programm des hungry eyes festivals 2021 gibt es hier auf der Website und auf unseren Social Media Kanälen, auf denen alle Arbeiten und Künstler:innen ausführlich vorgestellt werden.