team

The hungry eyes festival is being organised, curated and realised eleven by a team of film and performance makers, most of whom met in Gießen while studying applied theatre studies. The organising team sees itself as a collective that works together in a grassroots democratic way and provides for a fluid distribution of work according to personal interests and capacities instead of insisting on a strict division of tasks. It tries to create structures that enable them and the invited artists to work together under appropriate and mutually enriching conditions. In doing so neither for the organisers nor for the artists of the festival precarious work structures are reproduced.

Within the team, we count the hours we worked and pay ourselves accordingly. Auf diese Weise möchten wir vermeiden, dass organisatorische Arbeiten wie beispielsweise Protokollieren, Buchhaltung, etc. geringer bezahlt werden als inhaltliche Arbeiten wie etwa die Kuration oder die Planung des Vermittlungsprogramms. Uns ist bewusst, dass auch diese Bezahlweise keine absolute Fairness gewährleisten kann, jedoch ist diese Herangehensweise die, welche sich in unseren Gesprächen als die loyalste und unbestrittenste herausgestellt hat. 

Generally we are guided by the lower-fee-limit (Honoraruntergrenze) published by Bundesverband Freie Darstellende Künste.

Amélie Haller

Amélie Haller (she/her)(*1993) studied the Master of Applied Theatre Studies in Gießen. She works as a freelance artist and playwright, as well as curator of the 'hungry eyes festival'. Amélie's own artistic works range from performance to film and installation.  In 2021, her short film 'tell me your searchwords' was invited to the feminist Porn Film Festival Vienna. She is currently doing artistic research on performative storytelling and the possibility of a collecting and arranging narrative for the stage.

Elena Giffel

Elena Giffel (she/her) (*1984) studied philosophy in Würzburg and graduated with a Bachelor's degree in Applied Theatre Studies in Gießen. She works as a freelance artist, director, costume designer and author.  Since 2016, she has been co-organiser and curator at the hungry eyes festival.

Eva Kirsch

Eva Kirsch (she/her) (*1996) graduated with a Bachelor's degree in Applied Theatre Studies in summer 2020, since then she has been studying film at the University of Fine Arts in Hamburg. She works collectively on performances and filmic projects in installation contexts and for cinema, as well as co-organising and curating various festivals such as hungry eyes festival the hungry eyes festival and the dokumentafilmwoche hamburg. At the moment she is particularly interested in alternative pornographic forms and works together with collaborators as a (co-)director, dramaturge or editor on feminist porn films. These have been shown at the Luststreifen Film Festival, in the short film competition of the PornFilmFestival Berlin and at the San Francisco PornFilmFestival. Most recently, she has also worked several times as a freelance camerawoman in performance contexts (including productions at Künstlerhaus Mousonturm) and, since the 2020 festival edition, in the press office of the Diagonale - Festival of Austrian Film.

Eva Streit

Eva Streit (she/her) (*1994) completed her training as a contemporary stage dancer at the Contemporary Dance School Hamburg. She has worked as a performer in projects by Johanna Bruckner, Patricia Carolin Mai, Rica Blunck and Niels Wehr, among others. Since 2018, she has been studying Applied Theatre Studies in Gießen, working on her own productions and as artistic assistant for MONSTRA, willems&kiderlen and the integration project Salon International. She showed her own artistic works at the festival TanzArt ostwest, at Tanzlabor Hamburg, as well as eigenarten-Festival Hamburg. Since 2020, she has been part of the organising team of the hungry eyes festival.

Kathrin Frech

Kathrin Frech (she/her) studied Applied Theatre Studies at the JLU Gießen and at the Academy of Performing Arts in Prague. As a freelance artist, she has already been present at Seriale, the Federal Festival of Young Film, the HTA Werkschauwoche, the Leipzig Radio Play Summer and the International Women's Theatre Festival with mostly collectively developed projects revolving around the sweet spot of female dilettantism. In 2021, she realised the international performance festival DISKURS35 as part of a team of eight. Since October 2021, Frech has been studying stage and costume design at the HFBK Dresden. She has also been part of the hungry eyes festival 2022 since 2021.

Leonie Hanna Kopineck

Leonie Hanna Kopineck (she/her) (*1998) works as a performer and production assistant. Before studying theatre studies and comparative literature in Bochum and later Applied Theater Studies in Gießen, she worked as an assistant director at the Theater Duisburg. This was followed by assistant directorships at Otto-Falckenberg-Schuleand Münchner Kammerspielen (e.g. Hochdeutschlanddirected by Kevin Barz). Besides the organisation of students festivals she was also working as artist support for TANZPLATTFORM in Munich, as well as participating in the organisation and curation of the hungry eyes festival 2021.

Nastya Dzyuban

Nastya Dzyuban (she/her) (*1994) is engaged in art, dance, choreography. She was born in Kiev, Ukraine and currently lives in Germany. Since 2015, Nastya has been developing her artistic practice, interest and creating performative works, mostly in collaboration with close friends and colleagues. She is interested in the intersection of the dispositifs of theatre and choreography, as well as in themes such as potentiality, displacement, the notion of the common. Her work in recent years has been shown at festivals in Kiev, Frankfurt, Bochum and Mannheim. Nastya is currently studying choreography and performance in Gießen, is a scholarship holder of danceWEB 2021 and co-curator of the Diskurs35 and hungry eyes festival 2022.

nikolas Stäudte

nikolas Stäudte (no pronouns preferred) studied German as a foreign language in Leipzig and worked as a trainee director and dramaturge at the Staatsschauspiel Dresden and in the press and public relations department of euro-scene Leipzig. In addition to studying applied theatre studies and wage work in cinema, nikolas realises his own projects in various collaborative constellations, which have been shown at the Mousonturm Frankfurt, the Cammerspielen Leipzig and the Thalia Theater Hamburg, among others.

René Alejandro Huari Mateus

René Alejandro Huari Mateus (she*) Writing one's own biography for a programme booklet involves a violent process of simplifying a life. What is really the most important thing that others should know about me? Where I was born, what I studied, when and with whom I worked? That may be. Because that is how the readers of this short text can get a rough picture of me. I could still write: Lately I have been questioning the aesthetic choices I usually make when I criticise something, because my criticism can easily become a platform for the further reproduction of what I want to criticise.

Sophia Scherer

Sophia Scherer (she/her) was born in Graz in 1995 and moved to Gießen in 2017 to study Applied Theatre Studies, where she still lives. 2022 she works as a curator for the TheaterNatur Festival in Benneckenstein and has been part of the hungry eyes Festival collective since 2020. As a performance and video artist, she has performed at the Waggonhallen Marburg, the Frankfurt LAB, the fast forward festival and the international women's* theatre festival in Frankfurt.

Svenja Polonji

Svenja Polonji (she/her) (*1997) studied at Institute of Applied Theater Studies in Gießen and works as a performer, producer and curator. As a board member of theAlleineinboot e.V. in Bad Segeberg, she developed performative encounter projects between refugees and residents between 2015 and 2018. As a result of this work, she is a German Citizen Award winner, as well as a recipient of the Queisser Junior Award. Her mockumentary OUR OWN PRIVATE CRISIS was invited to the 2018 State of the Art in Hildesheim. She was already part of the hungry eyes festival team at the last edition. She is currently curating and producing the conference (POST)PANDEMISCH PERFORMEN for the Landesverband der Professionellen Freien Darstellenden Künste Hessen e.V. (State Association of Professional Independent Performing Arts Hesse), which deals with experimental, primarily cinematic formats in the contemporary theatre scene.

the curation process

The program of hungry eyes festival consists entirely of works in the fields of short film, performance and installation art, which are submitted via an internationally spread Open Call. A selection is then made from the submitted works, which will be shown during the festival in Gießen

The program of hungry eyes festival consists entirely of works in the fields of short film, performance and installation art, which are submitted via an internationally spread Open Call. A selection is then made from the submitted works, which will be shown during the festival in Gießen.

We curate the program collectively. This means that all team members view all submissions and then put together a program in a joint exchange process with several discussion rounds. At the end of the selection process, all members of hungry eyes festival should be confident in our program.

When deciding which works to show, we focus on content and aesthetic aspects, an experimental approach to the medium film, as well as the overall composition of the works as a program. Thus, even during the basic selection process, attention is paid to the interaction of the works and to thematic arcs and references in regards to aesthetics or content which arise between the individual works. 

Pragmatic decisive factors are that the applications are complete and that the spatial and temporal requirements are met. We are of course also bound by our financial plan with the limited financial resources available to us for each submission category. We do not pay a flat fee per production, but for each artist involved. We are always grateful for questions and suggestions regarding the selection process.

We distinctly position ourselves against any discriminatory content with regard to origin, skin colour, gender, sexual orientation, age or ability. Submissions with discriminatory content or statements will not be accepted, neither will solely promotional films.




kontakt@hungryeyesfestival.de I presse@hungryeyesfestival.de I technik@hungryeyesfestival.de
kunstrasen giessen e.V. I Postfach 11 06 01 I 35351 Gießen

das team

Das hungry eyes festival wird von elf Film- und Performance Schaffenden, die sich großteils in Gießen im Rahmen des Studiums der Angewandten Theaterwissenschaft kennenlernten, organisiert, kuratiert und umgesetzt. Das Organisationsteam versteht sich als ein Kollektiv, das basisdemokratisch zusammenarbeitet und eine fluide Verteilung der Arbeit nach persönlichen Interessen und Kapazitäten vorsieht, anstatt auf eine strenge Teilung der Aufgabenfelder zu bestehen. Es versucht Strukturen zu schaffen, die es ihnen und den eingeladenen Künstler:innen ermöglichen, unter angemessenen und einander bereichernden Bedingungen zusammenzuarbeiten. Dabei sollen weder für die  Organisator:innen, noch für die Künstler:innen des Festivals prekäre Arbeitsstrukturen reproduziert werden.

Innerhalb des Teams zählen wir geleistete Arbeitsstunden und bezahlen uns entsprechend. Auf diese Weise möchten wir vermeiden, dass organisatorische Arbeiten wie beispielsweise Protokollieren, Buchhaltung, etc. geringer bezahlt werden als inhaltliche Arbeiten wie etwa die Kuration oder die Planung des Vermittlungsprogramms. Uns ist bewusst, dass auch diese Bezahlweise keine absolute Fairness gewährleisten kann, jedoch ist diese Herangehensweise die, welche sich in unseren Gesprächen als die loyalste und unbestrittenste herausgestellt hat. 

Wir orientieren uns an den vom Bundesverband Freie Darstellende Künste herausgegeben Honorar-Untergrenze.

Amélie Haller

Amélie Haller (sie/ihr) (*1993) studierte den Master Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen. Sie arbeitet als freischaffende Künstlerin und Bühnenautorin, ebenso wie als Kuratorin des ‘hungry eyes festivals’. Amélies eigene künstlerischen Arbeiten erstrecken sich von Performance, über Film und Installation.  2021 wurde ihr Kurzfilm ‘tell me your searchwords’ zum feministischen Porn Film Festival Vienna eingeladen. Sie forscht derzeit künstlerisch zu performativem Storytelling und der Möglichkeit eines sammelnden und arrangierenden Erzählens für die Bühne.

Elena Giffel

Elena Giffel (sie/ihr) (*1984) hat in Würzburg ein Philosophiestudium absolviert und in Gießen Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft mit dem Bachelor abgeschlossen. Sie arbeitet als freischaffende Künstlerin, Regisseurin, Kostümbildnerin und Autorin.  Seit 2016 ist sie Mitorganisatorin und Kuratorin beim hungry eyes festival.

Eva Kirsch

Eva Kirsch (sie/ihr) (*1996) schloss ihr Studium der Angewandten Theaterwissenschaft im Sommer 2020 mit einem Bachelor ab, seitdem studiert sie Film an der Hochschule für bildende Künste in Hamburg. Sie arbeitet kollektiv an Performances und filmischen Projekten in Installationskontexten und fürs Kino, sowie als Mitorganisatorin und Kuratorin verschiedener Festivals wie dem hungry eyes festival und der dokumentafilmwoche hamburg. Momentan interessiert sie sich insbesondere für alternative pornografische Formen und erarbeitet mit Kollaborator*innen gemeinsam als (Co-)Regisseurin, Dramaturgin oder Editorin feministische Pornofilme. Diese wurden unter anderem beim Luststreifen Filmfestival, im Kurzfilmwettbewerb des PornFilmFestival Berlin und auf dem San Francisco PornFilmFestival gezeigt. Zuletzt war sie zudem mehrfach tätig als freischaffende Kamerafrau in Performancekontexten (u. a. bei Produktionen des Künstlerhaus Mousonturm) sowie seit der Festivalausgabe 2020 im Pressebüro der Diagonale – Festival des österreichischen Films.

Eva Streit

Eva Streit (sie/ihr) (*1994) absolvierte ihre Ausbildung zur zeitgenössischen Bühnentänzerin an der Contemporary Dance School Hamburg. Sie arbeitete u.a. als Performerin bei Projekten von Johanna Bruckner, Patricia Carolin Mai, Rica Blunck und Niels Wehr. Seit 2018 studiert sie Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen, arbeitet an eigenen Produktionen und als künstlerische Assistenz bei MONSTRA, willems&kiderlen und dem Integrationsprojekt Salon International. Ihre eigenen künstlerischen Arbeiten zeigte sie auf dem Festival TanzArt ostwest, im Tanzlabor Hamburg, sowie dem eigenarten-Festival Hamburg. Seit 2020 ist sie Teil des Organisationsteams des hungry eyes festival.

Kathrin Frech

Kathrin Frech (sie/ihr) studierte im Bachelor Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft an der JLU Gießen und an der Academy of Performing Arts in Prag. Als freischaffende Künstlerin war sie mit zumeist kollektiv erarbeiteten Projekten, welche um den Sweetspot des weiblichen Dilettantismus kreisen, bereits bei der Seriale, bei dem Bundesfestival junger Film, der HTA Werkschauwoche, im Rahmen des Leipziger Hörspielsommers und des Internationalen Frauen-Theater-Festivals präsent. 2021 realisierte Sie als Teil eines achtköpfigen Teams das internationale Performance Festival DISKURS35. Seit Oktober 2021 studiert Frech Bühnen- und Kostümbild an der HFBK Dresden. Ebenso ist sie seit 2021 Teil des hungry eyes festivals 2022.

Leonie Hanna Kopineck

Leonie Hanna Kopineck (sie/ihr) (*1998) arbeitet als Performerin und Produktionsassistenz. Vor ihrem Studium der Theaterwissenschaft und Komparatistik in Bochum und später der Angewandten Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen war sie als als Regieassistentin am Theater Duisburg tätig. Es folgten Regieassistenzen an der Otto-Falckenberg-Schule, sowie den Münchner Kammerspielen (z.B. Hochdeutschland, Regie: Kevin Barz). Neben der Organisation von studentischen Festivals war sie im Frühjahr 2020 an der Künstler*innen- und Spielortbetreuung der TANZPLATTFORM in München beteiligt, der Organisation und Kuration des hungry eyes festival 2021 und im Sommer 2022 für das IMPLANTIEREN Festival als Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit tätig. Sie gastierte für ein Semester im Bachelor Theaterregie an der ZhdK in Zürich.Ab Oktober 2022 studiert Leonie den Masterstudiengang Spiel&&Objekt an der Hochschule für Schauspielkunst Ernst Busch in Berlin.

Nastya Dzyuban

Nastya Dzyuban (sie/ihr) (*1994) beschäftigt sich mit Kunst, Tanz, Choreographie. Sie ist in Kiew, Ukraine, geboren und wohnt zurzeit in Deutschland. Seit 2015 entwickelt Nastya ihre künstlerische Praxis, Interesse und kreiert performative Arbeiten, meistens in Zusammenarbeit mit engen Freund:innen und Kolleg:innen. Sie interessiert sich für Schnittstellen der Dispositive Theater und Choreografie sowie für Themen wie Potentialität, Deplatzierung, den Begriff des Gemeinsamen. Ihre Arbeiten der letzten Jahre wurden auf Festivals in Kiew, Frankfurt, Bochum und Mannheim gezeigt. Derzeit studiert Nastya Choreografie und Performance in Gießen, ist Stipendiatin von danceWEB 2021 und Co-Kuratorin des Diskurs35 und Hungry Eyes 2022 Festivals.

Frithjof Gawenda

René Alejandro Huari Mateus

René Alejandro Huari Mateus (sie*) Das Schreiben einer eigenen Biografie für ein Programmheft beinhaltet einen gewaltsamen Prozess der Vereinfachung eines Lebens. Was ist wirklich das Wesentliche, was andere über mich wissen sollten? Wo ich geboren bin, was ich studiert habe, wann und mit wem ich gearbeitet habe? Das mag sein. Denn so können sich die Leser*innen dieses kurzen Textes ein grobes Bild von mir machen. Ich könnte noch schreiben: In letzter Zeit hinterfrage ich die ästhetischen Entscheidungen, die ich normalerweise treffe, wenn ich etwas kritisiere, denn meine Kritik kann leicht zu einer Plattform für die weitere Reproduktion dessen werden, was ich kritisieren möchte.

Sophia Scherer

Sophia Scherer (sie/ihr) ist 1995 in Graz geboren und zog 2017 für ihr Studium der Angewandten Theaterwissenschaft nach Gießen, wo sie nach wie vor lebt. 2022 arbeitet sie als Kuratorin für das TheaterNatur Festival in Benneckenstein und ist seit 2020 Teil des hungry eyes Festival Kollektivs. Als Performance- und Videokünstlerin war sie unter Anderem in den Waggonhallen Marburg, im Frankfurt LAB, sowie am fast forward festival und dem internationalen Frauen* Theaterfestival in Frankfurt zu sehen.

Svenja Polonji

Svenja Polonji (sie/ihr) (*1997) studierte am Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen und arbeitet als Performerin, Produzentin und Kuratorin. Als Vorstandsmitglied im Alleineinboot e.V. in Bad Segeberg entwickelte sie zwischen 2015 und 2018 performative Begegnungsprojekte zwischen Geflüchteten und Einwohnenden. Aufgrund dieser Arbeit ist sie Deutsche Bürgerpreisträgerin, sowie Ausgezeichnete des Queisser Juniorenpreises. Ihre Mockumentary OUR OWN PRIVATE CRISIS wurde 2018 auf dem State of the Art in Hildesheim eingeladen. Bereits bei der letzten Ausgabe war sie Teil des hungry eyes festival Teams. Momentan kuratiert und produziert sie für den Landesverband der Professionellen Freien Darstellenden Künste Hessen e.V. die Konferenz (POST)PANDEMISCH PERFORMEN, die sich mit experimentellen vor allem filmischen Formaten in der zeitgenössischen Theaterszene auseinandersetzt.

wie wir kuratieren

Das hungry eyes festival legt seinen Schwerpunkt auf die Schnittstelle zwischen Film und anderen Kunstformen. Für die bisherigen Ausgaben gab das Festival im Open Call keine spezifische thematische Vorgabe. Wir interessieren uns für und fokussieren uns auf den Umgang mit dem Medium Film, die experimentelle Kombination mit anderen Medien und die inhaltliche, historische oder ästhetische Bezugnahme auf Film in künstlerischen Arbeiten. 

Das Programm des hungry eyes festivals besteht in Gänze aus Arbeiten in den Bereichen Kurzfilm, Performance und Installation, die über einen international verbreiteten Open Call eingereicht werden. Aus den eingesendeten Arbeiten wird eine Auswahl getroffen, die dann während des Festivals in Gießen zu sehen ist. 

Wir kuratieren das Programm im Kollektiv. Das bedeutet konkret, dass alle Teammitglieder alle Einreichungen ansehen und dann in einem gemeinsamen Austauschprozess mit mehreren Diskussionsrunden ein Programm zusammen stellen. Hinter unserem Programm sollen am Ende des Auswahlprozesses alle Mitglieder des hungry eyes festivals überzeugt stehen.

Bei der Entscheidung, welche Arbeiten gezeigt werden sollen, spielen inhaltliche und ästhetische Aspekte, der experimentelle Umgang mit dem Medium Film, sowie die Gesamtkomposition der Arbeiten als Programm eine Rolle. So wird bereits während der grundlegenden Auswahl auch auf die Zusammenstellung der Arbeiten geachtet und darauf, welche thematischen Bögen und ästhetischen oder inhaltlichen Referenzen sich zwischen den einzelnen Arbeiten ergeben. 

Wir achten bei den Bewerbungen auf Vollständigkeit und Einhaltung der räumlichen und zeitlichen Vorgaben. Auch sind wir natürlich an unseren Kosten- und Finanzierungsplan gebunden, mit den uns zur Verfügung stehenden, begrenzten finanziellen Mitteln pro Einreichungskategorie. Wir zahlen Gagen nicht pauschal pro Produktion, sondern für jede:n beteiligte:n Künstler:in. Für Fragen und Anregungen zum Auswahlprozess sind wir jederzeit dankbar.

Wir positionieren uns ausdrücklich gegen jegliche diskriminierenden Inhalte in Bezug auf Herkunft, Hautfarbe, Gender, sexuelle Orientierung, Alter oder Fähigkeit. Einreichungen mit diskriminierenden Inhalten oder Äußerungen werden nicht akzeptiert, ebensowenig wie Werbe- oder Imagefilme.




kontakt@hungryeyesfestival.de I presse@hungryeyesfestival.de I technik@hungryeyesfestival.de
kunstrasen giessen e.V. I Postfach 11 06 01 I 35351 Gießen