open call

to: kontakt@hungryeyesfestival.de


a festival at the intersection of film, performance and installation art
5th to 7th of February at KiZ in Gießen

For its fourth edition, hungry eyes festival is once again looking for artistic works that situate themselves at the intersection of film, performance and installation art and question film in an interdisciplinary way. This year hungry eyes festival will take place in the urban exhibition space KiZ (Kultur im Zentrum) and poses the question of how cinematic works can relate to, as well as challenge that space. A program consisting of short film series, performative and installative works will explore what constitutes the medium film and how cinematographic elements and working methods can be translated into other media. What can cinematic work mean in the context of installation art and performances if it does not only mean the playing of audiovisual clips? To what extent can also a short film address its own form and play with performative elements? By which means does film become a field of experimentation that expands its own concept and practice in an interdisciplinary approach? From a ballet of overhead projectors, an exhibition with flip-books to a silent movie screening with virtual reality glasses – everything is possible.

hungry eyes is looking for your short films, installation art and performative formats! Apply with your works until 31th of August 2020!

Since we are particularly interested in interdisciplinary works, we also want to encourage artists to apply with projects that do not fit perfectly into one of these categories!

short film

We are looking for any kind of short film, regardless of the year and country of production. There are no thematic restrictions. We particularly welcome submissions that reflect on film, deal with it in an ex- perimental way, resist formal categorizations and/or understand themselves as cinematic experimental arrangements.

length: maximum 20 minutes
language: We welcome submissions in any language. If subtitling is possible, please indicate it in the respective place on the application form.
playback-format: For the screening at the festival we can use physical storage media (like a usb stick) or download links. Unfortunately we can not use analogue playback formats, but of course we accept digitized productions.

The short film program will be presented on screen in a screening situation set up for this purpose in the exhibition space.

short film for the trash-night

In this category we are looking for films that take themselves seriously in their unseriousness and do not take themselves too seriously in their seriousness – that develop their artistic potential beyond technical skills – that have failed in their own ambitions or have never been finished – that deal with film and their own artistic position in an unpretentious and self-ironic way. The Trash–Night including its accompanying moderation thrives on the mode of playful and casual viewing and finds its grand finale in the awarding of the “Golden Toast”.

length: maximum 20 minutes
playback-format: For the screening at the festival we can use physical storage media or download links. Unfortunately we can not use analogue playback formats, but of course we accept digitized productions.

The Trash–Night program will be presented on screen in a screening situation set up for this purpose in the exhibition space.

installation art

We are looking for installation art that relates in content and/or form to film, visual media, image spaces or projections and can be realized in an exhibition space. It is not necessarily required to work with video technology. We are also explicitly looking for works that deal with film in other (non-audiovisual) ways.

length: 1 – 3 exhibition days
location: At the exhibition space KiZ. Space requirements and layout by prior arrangement.
set up: maximum 8 hours on the day before the festival starts (February 4th)

Due to the spatial conditions, it is not possible to drill holes in the ceiling, walls and floor.

 

performance

We are looking for performative formats that relate in content and/or form to film, visual media, image spaces or projections and can be realized in the exhibition space. It is not necessarily required to work with video technology. We are also explicitly looking for works whose cinematic examination takes place in other (non-audiovisual) ways.

location: At the exhibition space KiZ. Space requirements and layout by prior arrangement.
set up/take down: maximum 1 hour each
rehearsals: Rehearsals in the exhibition room are unfortunately limited due to organizational reasons and are only possible outside the opening hours of the festival. Other rehearsal rooms might be available upon request.

Due to the spatial conditions, it is not possible to drill holes in the ceiling, walls and floor, nor to hang spot- lights. Spotlights can be used with tripods if required.

We would like to note that in each category only one submission per artist or group can be considered.

further informations

fee: Short films: 120€ per film
Installation art and performances: 400€ per traveling artist 

technical Equipment: We can provide event and exhibition equipment by prior arrangement.

travel and transport: We cover travel and transport costs up to 100€ per artist. For short films, we can pay the travel costs for one artist per film.

accommodation: If required, we will organize accommodation in private flats.

mediation and networking: An extensive mediation and networking program will enable the artists to get in touch with each other and visitors of the festival and to discuss their own work as well as other works and the whole festival program.

hungry eyes festival has set itself the goal of offering no room for discrimination of any kind.

kontakt@hungryeyesfestival.de I presse@hungryeyesfestival.de I technik@hungryeyesfestival.de
kunstrasen giessen e.V. I Postfach 11 06 01 I 35351 Gießen

English (UK)
Deutsch English (UK)

open call

an: kontakt@hungryeyesfestival.de

hungry eyes festival
Festival an der Schnittstelle von Film, Performance und Installation
5. bis 7. Februar 2021 im KiZ Gießen

Das hungry eyes festival sucht für seine vierte Ausgabe erneut künstlerische Arbeiten, die sich an der Schnittstelle von Film, Performance und Installation bewegen und das Medium Film interdisziplinär befragen. Dieses Jahr begibt sich das hungry eyes festival in den städtischen Ausstellungsraum KiZ (Kultur im Zentrum) und stellt die Frage, wie sich filmische Arbeiten mit diesem Ort in Beziehung setzen und ihn herausfordern können. Mit einem Programm, dass sich aus Kurzfilmreihen, performativen und installativen Arbeiten zusammensetzt, soll erkundet werden, was das Medium Film ausmacht und wie kinematografische Elemente und Arbeitsweisen in andere Medien übersetzt werden können. Was bedeutet filmisches Arbeiten in Installation und Performance, wenn damit nicht nur das Abspielen audiovisueller Clips gemeint ist? Inwiefern thematisiert auch der Kurzfilm die eigene Form und spielt dabei mit performativen Elementen? Mit welchen Mitteln wird das Medium Film zum Experimentierfeld, das den Begriff und die Praxis des Filmischen interdisziplinär erweitert? Von einem Ballett aus Overhead-Projektoren, über eine Ausstellung mit Daumenkinos, bis hin zu einer Stummfilmvorführung mit Virtual-Reality-Brillen, ist alles möglich.

hungry eyes sucht eure Kurzfilme, Installationen und performativen Formate! Bewerbt euch bis zum 31. August 2020 mit euren Arbeiten!

Wir möchten darauf hinweisen, dass in jeder Kategorie nur maximal eine Einreichung pro Künstler:in (oder Künstler:innengruppe) berücksichtigt werden kann.

Da wir uns besonders für interdisziplinäre Arbeiten interessieren, wollen wir auch Künstler:innen ermutigen, sich mit Projekten zu bewerben, die sich nicht klar in eine der Kategorien einordnen lassen!

kurzfilm

Gesucht wird jegliche Art von Kurzfilm, unabhängig von Produktionsjahr und -land. Es gibt keine thematischen Vorgaben. Wir freuen uns insbesondere über Einreichungen, die das Medium Film reflektieren, damit auf experimentelle Art umgehen, sich formalen Kategorisierungen widersetzen und/oder sich als filmische Versuchsanordnungen begreifen. 

Dauer: maximal 20 Minuten
Sprache: Wir freuen uns über Einreichungen in jeder Sprache. Wenn es die Möglichkeit einer Untertitelung gibt, gebt sie bitte an der entsprechenden Stelle im Bewerbungsformular an.
Abspielformate: Für das Screening beim Festival können wir physische Datenträger oder Download-Links verwenden. Leider können wir keine analogen Abspielformate wiedergeben, diese können aber selbstverständlich in digitalisierter Form eingereicht werden.

Das Kurzfilmprogramm wird in einer dafür im Ausstellungsraum errichteten Screening-Situation auf Leinwand präsentiert.

kurzfilm zur trash-night

In dieser Kategorie suchen wir Filme, die sich in ihrer Unernsthaftigkeit ernst nehmen und in ihrer Ernsthaftigkeit nicht zu ernst nehmen – die ihr künstlerisches Potenzial auch abseits von technischen Fertigkeiten entfalten – die am eigenen Anspruch gescheitert oder nie vollendet worden sind – die uneitel und selbstironisch mit dem Medium Film und der eigenen künstlerischen Position umgehen. Die “Trash-Night” inklusive ihrer begleitenden Moderation lebt vom Modus des ausgelassenen und ungezwungenen Schauens und findet ihren krönenden Abschluss in der Verleihung des “Goldenen Toasts”.

Dauer: maximal 20 Minuten
Abspielformate: Für das Screening beim Festival können wir physische Datenträger oder Download-Links verwenden. Leider können wir keine analogen Abspielformate wiedergeben, akzeptieren aber natürlich digitalisierte Produktionen.

Das Trash-Kurzfilmprogramm wird in einer dafür im Ausstellungsraum errichteten Screening-Situation auf Leinwand präsentiert.

installation

Gesucht werden Installationen, die in inhaltlichem und/oder formalem Bezug zu Film, Bildmedien, Bildräumen oder Projektionen stehen und sich im Ausstellungsraum realisieren lassen. Dabei ist es nicht zwingend erforderlich, dass mit Videotechnik gearbeitet wird. Wir suchen explizit auch Arbeiten, deren Beschäftigung mit Film in anderen (nicht audiovisuellen) Medien stattfindet.

Dauer: 1-3 Ausstellungstage
Ort: Im Ausstellungsraum KiZ. Raumbedarf und -aufteilung nach Absprache
Aufbau: maximal 8h am Tag vor Festivalbeginn (4. Februar) 

Aufgrund der räumlichen Gegebenheiten sind Bohrungen in Decke, Wände und Boden nicht möglich.

 

performance

Gesucht werden performative Formate, die in inhaltlichem und/oder formalem Bezug zu Film, Bildmedien, Bildräumen oder Projektionen stehen und sich im Ausstellungsraum realisieren lassen. Dabei ist es nicht zwingend erforderlich, dass mit Videotechnik gearbeitet wird. Wir suchen explizit auch Arbeiten, deren filmische Beschäftigung in anderen (nicht audiovisuellen) Medien stattfindet.

Ort: im Ausstellungsraum KiZ. Raumbedarf und -aufteilung nach Absprache
Aufbau/Abbau: jeweils maximal 1h
Proben: Proben im Ausstellungsraum sind leider aus organisatorischen Gründen nur begrenzt und außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten des Festivals möglich. Andere Proberäume können nach Absprache ggf. zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Aufgrund der räumlichen Gegebenheiten sind Bohrungen in Decke, Wände und Boden, ebenso wie Hängungen von Scheinwerfern nicht möglich. Scheinwerfern können, wenn benötigt, mit Stativen verwendet werden.

Wir möchten darauf hinweisen, dass in jeder Kategorie nur maximal eine Einreichung pro Künstler:in (oder Künstler:innengruppe) berücksichtigt werden kann.

weitere informationen

Honorar: Kurzfilme: 120€ pro Film
Installationen und Performances: 400€ pro anreisender:em Künstler:i

Technik: Nach Absprache stellen wir Veranstaltungs- und Ausstellungstechnik zur Verfügung.

Anfahrt und Transport: Wir übernehmen Fahrt- und Transportkosten bis zu einer Höhe von 100€ pro Künstler:in. Bei Kurzfilmen können wir pro Film die Anfahrt für eine:n Künstler:in bezahlen.

Unterbringung: Bei Bedarf organisieren wir Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten in Privatwohnungen.

Vermittlung und Vernetzung: Durch ein umfangreiches Vermittlungs- und Vernetzungsprogramm wird den Künstler:innen ermöglicht, untereinander und mit den Besucher:innen des Festivals in Kontakt zu treten und die eigene Arbeit sowie das Festivalprogramm zu diskutieren.

Das hungry eyes festival hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, keinen Raum für Diskriminierungen jeglicher Art zu bieten.

kontakt@hungryeyesfestival.de I presse@hungryeyesfestival.de I technik@hungryeyesfestival.de
kunstrasen giessen e.V. I Postfach 11 06 01 I 35351 Gießen

Deutsch
English (UK) Deutsch